Agensi Pengangkutan Awam Darat (APAD)

  • A-
  • A
  • A+

Pautan Baru


Klang Valley Mass Rapid Transit (KVMRT) Project

Printer-friendly versionSend by emailPDF version

The Klang Valley Mass Rapid Transit (KVMRT) System is set to be one of the most important and largest transport infrastructure projects Malaysia has embarked on. This project is listed as an Entry Point Project (EPP) under the Economic Transformation Programme’s Greater Kuala Lumpur/Klang Valley National Key Economic Areas (NKEA), and will provide a major boost in the integration and efficiency of urban public transport. The KVMRT project will see the construction of three MRT lines; MRT Line 1, MRT Line 2 and MRT Line 3.


MRT Line 1

The MRT Line 1 begins from Sungai Buloh and runs through the city centre of Kuala Lumpur before ending in Kajang, spanning 51 km with a total of 31 stations along its route. It will feature both elevated and underground stations and is expected to run at a frequency of 3.5 minutes.

As  the supervising agency for the MRT project, SPAD is responsible in ensuring that the outlined construction targets are met. Phase One of the MRT Line 1 from Sungai Buloh to Semantan will be open to commuters by the end of 2016, while Phase Two, from Semantan to Kajang will be in operation by July 2017.

MRT Line 2

The Government has allocated RM28 billion for the implementation of the MRT Line 2 for the Sungai Buloh-Serdang-Putrajaya link. The MRT Line 2 will serve a corridor with a population of around 2 million stretching from Sungai Buloh via Central Business District of Kuala Lumpur to Bandar Malaysia, Kuchai Lama and Serdang before ending at Putrajaya. The 52.2km line will include a 13.5km underground section between Jalan Ipoh and Kuchai Lama and 38.7km of viaduct. There will be 37 stations, 26 of which will be elevated with 11 underground stations. The stations will include Sri Damansara, Kepong, Kampung Batu, Jalan Sultan Azlan Shah, Jalan Tun Razak, KLCC, Tun Razak Exchange, Kuchai Lama, Seri Kembangan and Cyberjaya.

MRT Malaysia Sungai Buloh- Serdang- Putrajaya

The initial phase of the line between Sungai Buloh and Kampung Batu is due to be operational by July 2021 and the remainder of the line from Kampung Batu to Putrajaya Sentral is scheduled to be opened by July 2022. The MRT Line 2 is expected to have a ridership of 529,000 passengers per day. This is expected to further improve the chronic traffic congestion currently in Kuala Lumpur.

MRT Line 3

The MRT Line 3 which is part of the third and final line for the Klang Valley Mass Rapid Transit Project is at its planning and development stage. The announcement of the project will be revealed at a later date.

For more information about MRT projects, click here

Land Public Transport